Cherish what stands before you. Don’t expect anything more. Keep remembering. Hold onto expectations, smoking above the ruins. Make the most of whatever presents itself. Look for the signs and believe that poetry is more concrete than faith. Content yourself with the world. Fight to preserve it.” Sylvain Tesson

We stand for an architecture that humbly anchors Man in the world and foreshadows a sustainable society.

With this objective we seek to bring about sensitive spatial devices, healthy refuges, which compel us to listen to, to look at and to feel the natural world of the environments we inhabit.

Our work reconciles spaces of a pure and timeless geometrical abstraction, with the poetry and evanescence of natural phenomena. This combination gives rise to moments that set us on the path to a fundamental ecology.

Building with natural materials that are local and have a low carbon footprint, such as stone, wood, fibres and earth, enables us to tune our interventions to the particularities of each locality. Our intention is to make an architecture that is sustainable and harmonious, that displays humility and represents the cycle of life. 

Atelier Serge Joly was born in 2020 from the evolution of the Joly & Loiret architectural agency founded in 2006. Our studio is based in Paris and Marseille, France.

We focuse on projects in the Paris and Mediterranean regions, born of an in-depth understanding of the history and resources of these geographic areas that we study and work in. In the context of today’s environmental and social challenges, the studio that he manages believes that the synergy between practice and research is vital to incite the major and necessary evolution in the way projects are carried out.

Serge Joly trained at the Renzo Piano Building Workshop (2003-2006). He is keen to perfect his skills: training in “massive stone construction”, training in “low carbon building and life cycle analysis”, training in “airtightness of low carbon buildings”. In 2015, he obtained the diploma in “rehabilitation of old buildings” issued by the National Conservatory of Arts and Crafts.

Serge Joly was one of the winners of the 2005/2006 Nouveaux Albums de la Jeune Architecture (national prize for young architects), nominated for the Prix de la Première Œuvre, 2010 (prize for best first project), winner of the Prix National de la Construction en Bois, 2012 (prize for national prize for timber construction), winner of the Lauriers de la Construction en Bois, 2013 & 2014 (prize for timber construction), winner of the Prix National de la Construction en Terre Crue, 2014 (national prize for building in raw earth), winner of “40 under 40”, 2014. 

In 2016, Serge Joly curated with Paul Emmanuel Loiret the experimental exhibition ‘Terre de Paris, de la matière au matériau’ (‘Earth of Paris, from matter to material’) at the Pavillon de l’Arsenal architecture gallery in Paris. In extension to his research, Atelier Serge Joly is a partner in the ‘Cycle Terre’ circular economy project, winner of Urban Innovative Action (partly financed by European funding), which aims to recycle earth excavated from the building sites of the Grand Paris projects for transformation into raw earth building materials. In 2020 the project is setting up the local short circuit production of a range of geo-sourced materials such as clay panels, raw earth bricks or renders.

For over 15 years Serge Joly has been teaching in France’s Écoles Nationales d’Architecture and at the Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture. He currently runs a degree-level unit at the École Nationale d’Architecture in Marseille on ‘Materiality and Constructive Thinking’, and a masters-level studio that aims to develop natural architecture in the south of France.

« Vénérer ce qui se tient devant nous. Ne rien attendre. Se souvenir beaucoup. Se garder des espérances, fumées au-dessus des ruines. Jouir de ce qui s’offre. Chercher les symboles et croire la poésie plus solide que la foi. Se contenter du monde. Lutter pour qu’il demeure », Sylvain Tesson.

Nous défendons une architecture qui ancre modestement l’Homme au monde et préfigure une société durable.

Dans cette perspective, nous souhaitons mettre en œuvre des dispositifs spatiaux sensibles, refuges sains, qui engagent à écouter, à regarder et à sentir la naturalité de nos environnements de vie.

Notre travail concilie des espaces d’abstraction géométrique purs et intemporels avec la poésie et l’évanescence des phénomènes naturels. Cette rencontre fait naitre un instant de vie qui nous engage dans la voie d’une écologie fondamentale.

Construire avec des ressources naturelles locales et bas carbone comme la pierre, le bois, les fibres et la terre nous permet d’accorder nos interventions aux spécificités de chaque territoire. Notre dessein est une architecture soutenable et harmonieuse, qui fait preuve d’humilité et révèle une esthétique du vivant.

L’atelier Serge Joly est né en 2020 de l’évolution de l’agence d’architecture Joly&Loiret fondée en 2006. L’atelier est basé à Paris et à Marseille.

Nos travaux se concentrent sur des projets d’architecture francilienne et méditerranéenne, issus d’une connaissance et d’une compréhension de l’histoire et des ressources de ces territoires géographiques que nous étudions et pratiquons. A la croisée de la pratique et de la recherche notre démarche permet une synergie entre ces domaines engageant une évolution significative et nécessaire de la pratique du projet architectural dans le contexte des enjeux environnementaux et sociaux actuels.

Serge Joly se forme au Renzo Piano Building Workshop (2003-2006). Serge Joly est soucieux de parfaire ses compétences : formation « construction en pierre massive », formation « bâtiment bas carbone et analyse des cycles de vie », formation « étanchéité à l’air des bâtiments bas carbone ». Il obtient en 2015 le diplôme de « réhabilitation du bâti ancien » délivré par le Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers.

Serge Joly est lauréat des Nouveaux Albums de la Jeune Architecture 2005-2006 (NAJA), lauréat du Prix “40 under 40” (2014); son travail est nominé au Prix de la Première Œuvre (2010), lauréat du Prix National de la Construction en Bois (2012), lauréat des Lauriers de la Construction en Bois (2013 & 2014), lauréat du Prix National de la Construction en Terre Crue (2014), et lauréat du prix René Fontaine Architecture et Patrimoine (2015).

En 2016, Serge Joly est commissaire avec Paul Emmanuel Loiret de l’exposition expérimentation au pavillon de l’arsenal « terre de Paris, de la matière au matériau ». Dans la continuité de ces recherches, l’atelier Serge Joly est partenaire du projet d’économie circulaire « Cycle terre », lauréat du Urban Innovative Action (financé en partie par des fonds européens), qui vise à recycler les terres excavées des chantiers du Grand Paris et à les transformer en matériaux de construction en terre crue. Le projet met en place en 2020 une fabrique qui produira en circuit court local une gamme de matériaux géo-sourcés comme des panneaux d’argile, des briques de terre crue ou des enduits.

Serge Joly enseigne depuis plus de 15 ans dans les écoles Nationales d’Architecture et à l’Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture. Il anime actuellement à l’Ecole Nationale d’Architecture de Marseille, un studio de projet sur la thématique « Matérialité et pensée constructive » et en master, un studio de projet « complexités des lieux et résilience » dans le cadre du domaine d’étude Soutenabilité et Hospitalité.